Benefits of Voting an Early Ballot

Arizona offers voters the option of registering to vote through the Permanent Early Voter List. Putting your name on the Permanent Early Voter list means you will automatically receive an Early Voting Ballot for every election that you are eligible to participate in without the need to request a ballot for each election.

Early ballots provide voters several advantages:

1. No need to stand in line. I hate to stand in line. Anywhere. Sending an early ballot in the mail means I don’t have to plan my day around a trip to the polling location. It doesn’t get any better than that.

2. Take your time filling out the ballot. Early voting ballots can be filled out at home. You can take your time reading about the candidates and consulting voter education guides, such as the list of pro-choice candidates compiled by Planned Parenthood Advocates of Arizona. No need to memorize a list of names that you’ll be voting for, because you can fill out the early voting ballot at your leisure.

3. Avoid awkward conversation with strangers. Remember how I hate standing in line? The only thing worse than that is making chit chat with other people waiting in line. I’d rather talk to my friends over a latte, or a beer. Sending in an early voting ballot means less time spent making up interesting tidbits about myself, and more time spent doing the things I enjoy.

What about you? Are you registered to vote on the Pernament Early Voter List? Or do you enjoy the nostalgia of trotting out to the polling place to cast your ballot in person? We’d love to hear from you in the comments section.

To sign up for the Permanent Early Voter List, contact your county recorder’s office.

One response to “Benefits of Voting an Early Ballot

  1. I liking going to the polling location and filling out my ballot in person. Even though I’m not the most extroverted person around, something about being in a room with other people and participating in this democracy feels weirdly unifying. I understand, though, that mail-in ballots do tend to increase voter turnout, so that is good. I’ve never been unable to get to the polls myself, but other people’s lifestyles could vary wildly.